top of page
  • 20027100

Assignment 1: Formal Letter

 

Dear Professor Blackstone,

I am Gwendalyn Leow Yi Ting from Singapore Institution of Technology (SIT), currently a year 1 student pursuing a degree in telematics (TLM). Previously was from Singapore Polytechnic (SP), I graduated with a diploma in human resource management with psychology (DHRMP).

Even though others questioned my decision, I decided to apply for TLM as I wanted to push past my limits. It was a matter of continuing what was familiar or expanding my knowledge in areas that are new to me, such as programming. I was originally from business administration and had chosen entrepreneurship as my specialization. Within a week, I transferred to DHRMP. Though it was a short period of time, I learned quite a few things, such as the VUCA world we are living in and the importance of programming. They mentioned that transportation has evolved with technology and will continue to do so in the future. In addition, programmers are high on demand for businesses. Gradually, I became interested in programming, and even crashed my friend’s tutorial. I was intrigued and wanted to learn the art of programming. Subsequently, DHRMP provided electives in year 3; marketing, entrepreneurship, and further mathematics. Having the mindset to increase my GPA, I decided to go for further mathematics, since it was my strength. It made me realize that, even though it has been 3 years, my interest in mathematics did not fade away. Fortunately, I managed to achieve ‘Distinction’ for the elective.

On the topic of strengths, one of my communication strengths includes being able to attune myself to the flow of the conversation and adapt to the situation. When I sense that tension is rising, I would change the way I converse and think twice before speaking, to avoid making matters worse. There are times when I was able to ease the situation and I am proud of it.

However, there are times when I faced difficulties in expressing my thoughts verbally. Sometimes, others misunderstood my words and miscommunication arises. To minimize miscommunications, I started to collate my thoughts and run it through in my mind once, before voicing it out. Therefore, I hope to improve in these areas under your guidance. I would like to be better at adapting to the situation and most importantly, thinking things through before speaking.

Looking forward to the tutorials ahead and enjoying every part of it, as I had, the first tutorial.

Warm regards,

Leow Yi Ting


53 views10 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Reflection

I anticipated that the module would be a breeze as I had taken a similar module while studying at Singapore Polytechnic (SP). Both modules taught me the appropriate way to do a report write up and a p

Product Description Summary Final Draft

According to the article, “Google Nest Mini Review", Pino (2020) stated that being a multipurpose speaker, Google Nest Mini also connects to the smart homes, utilizing Google Assistant. Users are able

Product Description Summary Draft #2

According to the article, “Google Nest Mini Review", Pino (2020) stated that being a multipurpose speaker, Google Nest Mini also connects to the smart homes, utilizing Google Assistant. Users are able

bottom of page