top of page
  • 20027100

Reflection

I anticipated that the module would be a breeze as I had taken a similar module while studying at Singapore Polytechnic (SP). Both modules taught me the appropriate way to do a report write up and a pitch on a technological product after researching on it. However, I was proven wrong as the requirements for both projects were different. TLM1010-Technical Communication required a deeper understanding of the product as well as feasible modifications to improve the product and countermeasures for the modifications, hence changing the content of the report and pitch. Whereas in SP, I was only required to write about the product itself and to do a pitch about the innovative product. Therefore, it was quite a challenge.


Upon completion of the project, it taught me the ability to adapt to the situation. When I had to do the practice pitch, I realized that the content I was supposed to talk about was not exactly correct. Adding on to the stress, the time given to prepare was not a lot, hence I had to think and change on the spot. It was quite terrifying but thrilling at the same time. Another lesson that I learned was the correct way to do an APA style citation. When I had taken a similar module in SP, the module objective was the same; to teach students the proper way to write a report and do citations. However, I am ashamed to say that I did not know what was happening then. I had to turn to use the auto-generated systems to do the citations, which I know now, was not accurate in the slightest. Therefore, I paid attention during lessons and clarified my doubts about citations to know what I am required of.


All in all, I looked forward to attending the tutorials as Professor Brad, as well as my amazing classmates, made the lessons much enjoyable. Throughout these 13 weeks, I am grateful to have learned the art of citation. Looking back at the self-introduction letter I had written, I mentioned that I would like to improve on 2 things: the ability to adapt to changes and express my thoughts. I am proud to say that I was able to grow from there as I write this reflection, expressing my feelings.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Product Description Summary Final Draft

According to the article, “Google Nest Mini Review", Pino (2020) stated that being a multipurpose speaker, Google Nest Mini also connects to the smart homes, utilizing Google Assistant. Users are able

Product Description Summary Draft #2

According to the article, “Google Nest Mini Review", Pino (2020) stated that being a multipurpose speaker, Google Nest Mini also connects to the smart homes, utilizing Google Assistant. Users are able

Product Description Summary Draft #1

According to the article, “GOOGLE NEST MINI REVIEW", Pino (2020) stated that being a multipurpose speaker, Google Nest Mini also connects to the smart homes, utilizing Google Assistant. Users are able

bottom of page